Cover © Judith Clute

Fantastika in the World Storm

John Clute

On the Locus "Recommended Reading List"
of the best non-fiction of 2011.

Photo © Judith Clute

Reviews of this book have appeared in the following journals
Locus #607 (by Gary K Wolfe)      Vector #268 (by Paul Kincaid)
Science Fiction Studies #116(v39.pt1) (by Gerry Canavan)
SFRA Review #298 (by Leon Marvell)       SFSite (by D. Douglas Fratz)
The Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts #23.3 (by T S Miller) and Foundation #114 ( by Pawel Frelik)

"John Clute .....His 2011 collection Pardon this Intrusion: Fantastika in the World Storm reflects on what I believe will prove to be Clute's most important contribution to the field, the introduction of fantastika as an umbrella term for all fantastic literature and, by extension, the consideration of all the genres of fantastic literature as one coherent literary and cultural phenomenon." - Damien Walter, Guardian online, 28 Mar 2012
Full review at Guardian online

> > > > > Sample pieces from this book can be viewed here. < < < < <

Pardon This Intrusion gathers together 47 pieces by John Clute, some written as long ago as 1985, though most are recent. The addresses and essays in Part One, "Fantastika in the World Storm", all written in the twenty-first century, reflect upon the dynamic relationship between fantastika – an umbrella term Clute uses to describe science fiction, horror and fantasy – and the world we live in now. Of these pieces, "Next", a contemporary response to 9/11, has not been revised; everything else in Part One has been reworked, sometimes extensively. Parts Two, Three and Four include essays and author studies and introductions to particular works; as they are mostly recent, Clute has felt free to rework them where necessary.
The few early pieces – including "Lunch with AJ and the WOMBATS", a response to the Scientology scandal at the Brighton WorldCon in 1987 – are unchanged. Six essays, some of considerable length, are now published for the first time.

John Clute was born in 1940 in Canada. Beginning in his teens he lived for several years in the United States, which he continues to visit. Since 1969 he has lived in London. He began to review science fiction in the early 1960s, and currently contributes Scores, a regular critical column, to the online journal Strange Horizons. Much of this work has been gathered into collections. He has written two novels, Appleseed (2001) being science fiction. He has co-edited or written three encyclopedias of fantastika, including The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction - the fourth edition of which is available free online here.
He has won four Hugos, four Locus Awards, the World Fantasy Award, and others. For his critical work in particular he was given a Readercon Award in 1989, the Pilgrim Award in 1994, the Eaton Grand Master Award in 1995, the ICFA Distinguished Guest Scholar Award in 1999, and the Solstice Award in 2012

375 pages - 233mm x 150mm - Publication date 15 May 2011.

ISBN (13) 9781-870824-60-6
Price UK£16.00
For addresses in the UK add £2.50 postage and packing (p&p)

Please see "How to Order"



Two Keynotes for SUNY New Paltz
Canary in the Coal Mine
Pardon This Intrusion
Fantastika in the World Storm
And Then I Woke Up
Physics for Amnesia
Truth is Consequence

Lunch with AJ and the WOMBATS
What I Did on my Summer Vacation
Grail, Groundhog, Godgame
Leaving Magic Mountain Inn
Three Short Pieces out of Canada
Fables of Transcendence
Introduction to Tesseracts8
I think Canada: Therefore . . .
Notes on the Geography of Bad Art in Fantasy
Lord of the Dance
Beyond the Pale
Dr Wells's Other Islands
The Dream of Arena
Love in 2100
Fantasy and the Metatext
Notes on an Early Model for Superman

Two Views of Joan Aiken
Joan Aiken
Joan Aiken: an Appreciation
William Mayne
Thomas Burnett Swann
Howard Waldrop
Five Interzone Introductions
Interzone: The First Anthology 1985
Interzone: The Second Anthology 1987
Interzone: The Third Anthology 1988
Interzone: The Fourth Anthology 1989
Interzone: The Fifth Anthology 1991
The Purple Cloud by M P Shiel
A Voyage to Arcturus by David Lindsay
Dying Inside by Robert Silverberg
The Shape of Things to Come by H G Wells
Two Rhys Hughes Introductions
A New Universal History of Infamy
Worming the Harpy
On the Overgrown Path by David Herter
Inverted World by Christopher Priest
Heroes in the Wind: Best Stories of Robert E Howard
Two Disch Introductions
The M.D.
A Winter Journey
The Golem by Gustav Meyrink

Joan Aiken
William Mayne
Thomas Burnett Swann
Howard Waldrop
Works Cited
Guide to Reviews
Publication Credits

-- INDEX --
Index, compiled by Leigh Kennedy